Spartanburg County District Teacher of the Year

May 30, 2023
Dorman High School's Robert Urban has been named District Teacher of the Year. Dorman High School's Robert Urban has been named District Teacher of the Year.

Spartanburg County School District Six is proud to announce that Robert Urban has been named “District Six Teacher of the Year.” Entering into his 26th year of teaching, Urban was chosen among a select group of educators in the district. This new title was announced during the District Six Awards and Recognitions program on August 14. In reference to this new chapter in his life, Urban says, "I’m honored to represent Spartanburg Six. We have an outstanding school district with tremendous faculty, facilities, and community support." Urban is an art educator at Dorman who graduated from the University of South Carolina. When asked what he loves most about his teaching career Urban says, "I get to make and create art every day with my students!”

District Six also recognized school level teachers of the year and staff members of the year. We are so grateful for each one of them and the impact they are having on the lives of our students:

Tiffany Nicholson, Anderson Mill

Kathey Tate, Arcadia

Ashley Walter, Bobo

Andrew Hallman, Dawkins

Karen Crossley, DFC

Robert Urban, Dorman

Olivia McNorrill, Fairforest Elementary

Clark Maxwell, Fairforest Middle

Brooke Parris, Gable

Lindsey Layton, Lone Oak

Sarah McClure, Pauline

Lindsey Harris, Roebuck

Whitney Becker, West View

Stacy Crump, Woodland Heights

Andrew Connolly, CDC

Tim St. Louis, R.D. Anderson

Support Staff of the Year:

Anderson Mill - Linda Draughn, Computer Lab

Arcadia - Mimi Wray (Margaret), Reading Interventionist

Bobo - Jo Chavez, Custodian

Dawkins - Tina Metcalf, Computer Lab Manager

DFC - Jennifer Williams, Secretary (Front Office)

Dorman (2) - Kevin Daniel, IT
Ray Ladoucer, IT/Network Administrator

Fairforest Elementary - Galina Weckerman, K5 Aide

Fairforest Middle - Yahaira Rosario, Secretary

Gable - Donette Harding, Spec Ed Aide

Lone Oak - Cindy Stone, Secretary/Bookkeeper

Pauline - Bertha Barrientos, Head Custodian

Roebuck - William Brooks, Custodian

West View - Crystal Jackson, Secretary

Woodland Heights - Betty Mitchell, Custodian

CDC - Karen Torrez, Interpreter/Secretary

Food Service - Jennifer Campbell, Cafeteria Manager / DFC

Maintenance - Tommy Ellis, Locksmith/Electrician

Transportation - Denise Vanderver, Bus Driver